Celebrating!

Hello everyone!

I hope you are celebrating the Lord’s Day today! We’ve celebrated it by listening to Bluegrass Gospel music all day. 🙂 I found a new group that I’ve taken quite a shine to: Shiloh Mountain Trio . Make sure to listen to their Swing Lo’ Sweet Chariot! 

 

In other news, I’ve been sewing up a storm lately! Thanks to Liberty Linens, I’ve made a linen jacket and bedjacket in the past few days. This shortgown is lined with a different striped material, and is reversible.

It looks very slim from the back… but looks very flat from the front. True to colonial fashion! 🙂

 

I’m not sure if this bed jacket was done right, but I didn’t have a pattern, and used a photo of a plate from the 18th century. It got a bit confusing, and I had to add a few minor changes. 

 

Have a blessed Sunday!

~Kate~

 

“Not slothful in business; fervent in spirit; serving the Lord; Rejoicing in hope; patient in tribulation; continuing instant in prayer…”

~Romans 12:11-12~

August 31, 2008. Happiness, Music, Projects, Sewing, Sunday.

2 Comments

  1. Elisabeth replied:

    Beautiful Kate! I can’t wait to see them in person. 🙂 Soon!!! A reversible jacket…good idea…very good idea indeed! 😉 The bedgown looks great…makes me want to sew another gown…*sigh* 18th C. is SO addicting!

  2. Kate replied:

    It was interesting that the original jacket was sewn almost with a costume lining… the lining on the original was sewn with seams in, instead of the usual seams showing that need flat-felled. I did reverse one dart so it would be reversible. You’ll certainly see them! 🙂

    ~Kate~

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

