So, yesterday I tried walking on coals…

And this was the result!

Okay, I didn’t purposefully walk on coals! But I did step on a few as I was open fire cooking yesterday. 🙂 Oh well, a little vitamin E and a band-aid, and I’m good to go! 

 

I had a completely wonderful day yesterday! I cooked all kinds of goodies… Here’s my menu, of sorts:

Breakfast: Mush Muffins, Bacon, cooked mush

Lunch: Fried potatoes and onions

Dinner: Chicken, sweet potatoes, butternut squash fritters, mush muffins and bread

Dessert: Butternut Squash Pie and Apple Dumplings

 

I cooked up a storm, and by the end of the day I had that “I-worked-really-hard-and-I’m-tired” kind of feeling. 🙂

Kneading the bread dough and forming it into a loaf.

 

After a busy and tiring day, we decided what would be a better way to celebrate a tiring day than to go to an old car show? So, we packed up all the cooking gear in the pickup, ran home, and Dad unloaded it while I cleaned off the soot and smoke, and we headed down in my pick-up! It’s so much fun to be able to ride around in an old car, instead of just watching from the sidelines and dreaming! 🙂 We stayed until 10:30, and finally headed home. 🙂

 

Today has been spent cleaning all the pots and pans. I used up the rest of the butternut squash filling and pastry I had to make another pie… which I think turned out lovely! Wouldn’t you agree? (Hopefully it tastes lovely too!)

Butternut squash and apple pie

Have a blessed Sunday evening, y’all! 

“But let all those that put their trust in thee rejoice: let them ever shout for joy, because thou defendest them: let them also that love thy name be joyful in thee. For thou, Lord, wilt bless the righteous; with favour wilt thou compass him as with a shield.”

~Psalm 5:11-12~

October 12, 2008. Cooking, Family, Fun, Happiness, Sunday.

2 Comments

  1. Julia replied:

    Ouch! So cooking barefoot does have a downside afterall. It sounds like a lovly menu. I see you included mush muffins (an essential!)

  2. Kate replied:

    Must. Have. Mush muffins. It IS essential, dearest Julia!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

