Dance to Your Own Tune – Part 1

Hello there! Today was a good, but long, day. 🙂 This week has been quite busy, and full of ideas for blog and business. 🙂 

“Masquerading as a normal person day after day is exhausting.”
~Anon~ 

Sometimes I’m in a situation where I realize I just don’t belong in this century. (Such an event happened just the other night) Does anyone else ever get that feeling? I know there are lots of other people that “buck traffic” in the modern world we live in. 

So why is it that everyone seems to think that a person is defined by “what they do?” Isn’t it funny how we ask three year olds what they want to do when they grow up? It seems like it only gets worse at the age I’m at now… “What are you going to do after high school?” and “what are you going to do after college?” Now, please don’t get me wrong… I’m all about planning… but sometimes I see people getting so caught up in what they are going to do in the future, that they go through their lives focusing on the future and forget to live now!

What should be important to us? Well, the first thing that is the most important is our relationship with God. If you’ve never read the Bible, I encourage you to do so! It’s the best life-guide anyone could ever ask for, and every single word is true. It’s what holds me together when things get rough. And it tells me that God has a special plan for me and my life. 

I believe the second most important thing in this world is relationships. Parents, spouses, siblings, grandparents, friends… they are really the one thing that counts in this life! Let’s face it, we don’t get to take our jobs, our paychecks, or our IPods with us when we leave! But the people we know, love, and worship and pray with… they will meet us when we get to heaven. 

“Call is a clan, call it a network, call it a tribe, call it a family.
Whatever you call it, whoever you are, you need one.”
~Jane Howard~ 

In this brand new year, everyone is always setting goals. Aren’t they always fun? I confess, I didn’t set any goals this year, but I have been thinking about the few that I’ve had pretty much my whole life. Sometimes our most important goals (at least the main goal I’ve had since I was little) are things that we really can’t get ahold of by our own “doing.” It’s not something that we can control, and we simply have to trust God that He is working it out, and leave it there. 

It’s really good to plan ahead… but sometimes the “best laid plans of mice and men gang aft aglae.” I would encourage everyone to really think about their goals; are you setting a goal in your life just because “everyone else is doing it” or because it’s something you truly love and hope for? Set goals that you will work toward no matter how long it takes. Mom showed me a note from her journal that I think is really neat. 

Godly goals should be:

* God honoring and in His Plan 
* Committed to the Lord
* Planned for and followed
* For God’s Glory

 

So let’s set a new trend and dance to our own tune! 

“Do not go where the path may lead; go instead
where there is no path and leave a trail.”
~Ralph Waldo Emerson~ 

January 15, 2009. Dance to Your Own Tune, Family, Happiness, Life.

3 Comments

  1. Jacqueline Johns - Your Happy Life Mentor replied:

    Hey there!
    Pleased to meet you – I don’t belong in this century either!
    I’ve found the best thing to do is just be myself – we don’t have to conform to the behaviour of this century.
    Honour yourself as the person you are – no need to compare yourself to others.
    I enjoyed your blog – you seem to have it all together.
    Keep up the good work.

  2. KG replied:

    AMEN!! My goal for the year is to be a more generous – share what I have. Share the awesome tutorials and tips and tricks that I find on the web and supplies that I’ve been blessed with. It’s very freeing to be generous – a wonderful feeling. No holding back – Jesus wouldn’t hoard his blessings. lol. Keep up the good work!

  3. Julia replied:

    Yes!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

