A new sweater-dress. Literally!

Hello folks!ย 

How is everyone this fine day? I’m doing wonderfully, thought you all might enjoy seeing one of my recent projects (finished last night, actually), and perhaps give some advice. First, it all started when we were shopping last Saturday. And I saw this really cute dress. REALLY cute. ๐Ÿ™‚ Olive-y green with chocolate brown trim… totally crazy and retro and anthropologie-ish.ย ย Just the style you might find in their catalogue. However, I wasn’t about to pay the price for the original!ย 

Later on, we ventured into a Goodwill. The towns we had been in are full of very well to-do people, and wow! let me tell you, they had some amazing finds in that Goodwill! Clothing from Nordstroms, Bass, and even an Ettiene Aignerย purse! ๐Ÿ˜€ I was amazed. I really didn’t find much of anything, but my grandmother did find this hooded sweater jacket, which was just what I was searching for! (For $5.00!)

dsc_0043

Size 1X for room to play with… ๐Ÿ™‚

So yesterday evening I chopped. And sewed. Trimmed. Ironed. And finally, after several hours, I had a finished product! MUCH changed from the original sweater, right? I still have the sleeves and hood… I wonder what I could make with them? ๐Ÿ˜€ I used left-over linen from a Colonial outfit for the trim, and two vintage leather-looking buttons.

dsc_0044_1
Note the kitty behind me… she was VERY helpful all evening sitting on my fabric. (Holding it in place for me, of course! )

So, I have a question for you all: do I leave the big strange raggedy flower, or not? It seemed like a good idea until I sewed it on. Now I’m not so sure… I kind of like it, and kind of think it needs to come off. Any advice? I can easily take it off and save it for a rainy day. (Or another sweater!)

Well, I need to run for now! Have a blessed day, everyone!ย 

“Dost thou love life? Then do not squander time; for that’s the stuff life is made of.”
~Benjamin Franklin~ย 

ย 

::EDIT::ย 

I would LOVE to win this lovely blouse from Grograin! It’s so adorably cute! And, if I don’t win, I might just have to find material and make one. ๐Ÿ˜‰ย 

January 19, 2009. Uncategorized.

4 Comments

  1. spioraid replied:

    I think without the flower. It doesn’t quite fit in with the warm/fuzzy feel that sweater-dress emanates. Or something. ๐Ÿ˜€

    I’ll show Rachel, I’m sure she’ll melt.

  2. Kate replied:

    LOL. Thanks for the fashion advice, Andrew! ๐Ÿ˜€ Yeah, ask Rachel what she thinks too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Ruth replied:

    Such a cute re-fashion of the sweater! Is it similar to the dress you saw while shopping? And I agree with taking the flower off…or how about moving it to the bodice or waistline? …so many possibilities….

  4. Kelly replied:

    My 15 year old daughter, Stephanie LOVES this (and thinks the flower ought to stay). She said if you sold these she would buy one in a heartbeat!
    God bless you Kate,
    Kelly

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

