A quiet day at home

Hello everyone! 

It has been a quiet day here, although Mom and I did get out for a little local excitement, we simply had to visit our librarians and celebrate with them in the opening of the newly built library! I haven’t been to the library in quite a while, and was happy to find a few new books to read. I started reading one, “Winston and Clementine: The Personal Letters of The Churchills” which, so far, is a fantastic book. I recently began reading a biography on Winston Churchill, (which is about half-way finished right now!) and have wanted to read this one for quite a while. Depending on how good it is as I continue reading, it may need to be added to my collection. 

 

9780395963197

 

Thus far, there are a few things that stand out to me in the book (You must know, though, I’m only 82 pages into the 702 page book!). Winston and Clementine continually wrote back and forth to each other, often every single day. Not only about events of the day, happenings of the time (like the sinking of the Titanic), but often sweet little love notes, just to let the other know of their continued affection. It has put a whole new light on the couple, as well as shows the “real-ness” of their love for each other. They have their trials and vexations, and write exactly as they think and feel to each other. It’s amusing and funny, and I have been laughing at the witty remarks that were sent back and forth between them. 

There’s just something about writing letters back and forth that is wonderful… I’ve always been a letter writer, and unfortunately have gotten out of the habit in the past few years. 

After making a quick run to the thrift store across the street to see if they had any goodies, I came home and worked on some quick sewing jobs for a friend. Once that was finished, I read some more with a warm cup of tea in hand, and then cooked dinner. (Breakfast for dinner.. yum, yum! :-)) 

I’m trying to take over dinners, meal planning, and grocery shopping for Mom. Since the crunch of getting ready for her next show is coming on, and I’m at home full-time now (YAY!), I have enjoyed trying my hand at planning meals. Coupons and sales are my best friends! I absolutely love going grocery shopping, and catching sales and using coupons is a fun challenge.  

A few sites I love for getting good coupons/deals/tips on where to get coupons: 

RedPlum

Coupons.com

Retail Me Not

Money Saving Mom

And for those of you who buy Eight O’Clock coffee… be sure to sign up for their new rewards program. If you grind your own coffee beans, they’ve been including a $1 off your next bag coupon in each bag of original whole coffee beans!

 

Well, all this being said, I need to go wash up the dinner dishes and get the counters clean and tidy! God Bless, and have a wonderful evening, everyone! 🙂 

 

“When you are a Bear of Very Little Brain, and you Think of Things, you sometimes find that a Thing which seemed very Thingish inside you is quite different when it gets out in the open and has other people looking at it.”
~A.A. Milne~ 

April 20, 2009. Fun, Life, Monday, Reading.

3 Comments

  1. Kate's Mom replied:

    Kate, I always know you’re into a good book when you read half of it outloud to me!
    🙂

    We do Think of Thingish Things quite often, don’t we?
    😀

  2. Kristin replied:

    Kate, what a help to your mother to have meals taken care of! Oh, as a young mom with busy hands and a husband with a job requiring him to be gone many evenings in the spring, I long for someone to help me with my meals! But this the season of life I must be (and am) content with now…

  3. Lena replied:

    Oh, I remember wanting to read this book, when it first came out, and then, I forgot about it. I’m glad that you posted your thoughts and reminded me.

    I used to be a letter writer too, and I’ve been thinking about that a lot lately. There is something about going to the mailbox to find a “surprise” that is so lovely. It makes the whole day, brighter.

    I forgot to mention in your last post, that I have a hope chest. It’s full of momentos now, but when I was first out on my own, my husband, then beau, said that he’d never seen someone so prepared for making a home of her own. I’ve always been a nester, and had so much fun collecting things to create a loving and inspiring environment in which to live, and welcome, my friends.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

