With a hinge.

Hello everyone! 

Yes, odd title, I know… it is part of a quote that is quite appropriate in my back’s current state of affairs. 

“What a man needs in gardening is a cast-iron back, with a hinge in it.”
~Charles Dudley Warner~

 

Wouldn’t you agree? In the past few days I have dug two trenches out of the walk-ways in my garden, and tonight laid down plastic to keep down the weeds, and then shoveled dirt on top of the plastic. Hooray! Doesn’t sound like much when it’s written down, but my back and arm muscles know better. 🙂 

The spring is nearly gone, which is quite sad. My poor precious daffy-downs are almost all dried up. 😦 Poor little things! I think daffodils should bloom all year long, don’t you? However, the bright side is that daisies come up in the summer. 

“Fair daffodils, we weep to see you haste away so soon.”
~Robert Herrick~

 

dsc_0058

Another sweet little house that I just love! It has all the best things… red shutters, a wonderful front porch, and a screen door! 

 

April 27, 2009. Fun, Garden, Life, Monday, Quotage, Spring.

One Comment

  1. Lena replied:

    LOL! Well, it gets worse as you age, I’m afraid. Just this week, my friend Nancy, and my sister, both great gardeners, were telling me that they could barely walk the next TWO days after working their gardens last Sunday. It is so worth it though, to reap the rewards.

    That is another lovely house. I love older, traditional houses, and it looks like you live in a community where there are some terrific ones.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

