A Long Day (Or, our weekend, part 3)

Here’s the 3rd installment of last weekend’s events! This one is a bit short, due to tired-ness after the  long day, so I’ll be posting some other things as well. 🙂 Click on the links below for the first two parts.

Part 1
Part 2 

A long day today. Fun, though! I cooked breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and even got to play hammered dulcimer with the musicians! The violinist/cellist let me play her cello… I would like one of those someday! Finally packed up and headed out to dinner, and enjoyed a nice meal out. Hooray for day 1!! 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yes, as you can obviously tell, I was pretty tired… that was short! 😉 However, there’s lots of other things going on now that I’m home, and I’d like to show you a few!

Yesterday we girls snuck out of the house to go antiquing, and I came home with a few more treasures! (What else is new?) A nice white linen tablecloth with a few stains that I plan on cutting up into something (more on that when I get around to that project), and a whole basket of linens to do something with! My two favorite treasures of the afternoon were a yellow and white linen tablecloth, and a tomato slicer from the 40’s or 50’s that’s never been used. Not a spot of rust! When I get in an antique shop, no matter how much I tell myself I don’t need anything… my “hopechesting” tendencies come out, and I inevitably come home with a treasure I know I must save for the future. 

 

DSC_0001

My newfound treasures.

In other news, while helping with dinner, I came up with a quick, and more energy-efficient way of melting butter! We were making spaghetti, and needed to make a butter sauce for some garlic bread. Instead of microwaving the butter, I put it in a dish and rested it on top of the spaghetti pot, right were the steam comes out. No need to turn on the microwave, and the butter melted just fine. Hooray!

 

Well, I need to go and do other things… busy day ahead! God Bless, and have a wonderful day.

May 21, 2009. Family, Fun, Fun Finds, Hopechesting, Knitting, Life, Projects, Saturday, Thursday, Tightwadding, Weekend.

One Comment

  1. kim replied:

    I tend to collect vintage kitchen utensils too! Hmmmm, maybe a blog post later with a picture. I’d like the dandilion jelly recipie – no hurry though. Next year even. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

