A Modest Alteration.

Hello again, everyone! 

Today has been yet another good day. I woke up rather on the grumpy side, seeing as it was raining out, and I hadn’t any room for rain in the plan of my day. However, despite the unwanted weather, I got quite a lot done today! I baked up a storm, starting with bread in the morning, and ending with other goodies in the afternoon. 

I also managed to get some more sewing done, including an alteration to a new skirt. Most of my family/friends will tell you I have a habit of picking up cheap clothing with “alterations” in mind. When I saw an adorably cute skirt for $6 early this year, I just couldn’t pass it up. It was just a little shorter than I like to wear, so I bought it with a lengthening alteration in mind. 🙂 Luckily, the skirt has a lining, and I was able to sew a cute and kicky panel right to it. Add a wide matching belt, and the result is a retro, almost “apron” looking skirt! 

 

DSC_0004

Does anyone else have idea books? My ideas come from magazines, clothing stores, websites, vintage designs, antique stores, etc. My idea book is a wonderful thing, lots of blank white paper, my favorite blue gel pen carefully stored inside. (If the pen goes missing, look out! I go on a rampage!)

 

DSC_0019

The first page in my idea book.

Well, I’m off to find some food… maybe create something yummy for dinner. God Bless, and have a wonderful evening!

June 5, 2009. Cooking, Fashion, Femininity, Friday, Fun, Life, Modesty, Projects, Rain, Sewing.

2 Comments

  1. Kiki replied:

    That skirt is just too fun! I love the way your shoes look with it, too!

    I have an idea journal that hold everything from phone numbers to lists to sketches. I think I’d lose my mind if I lost it.

  2. dawn replied:

    I just love this. If I owned a small cafe, I would order these from you for the waitresses…they are about the cutest aprons I’ve seen!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

