White and lacy.

Hello friends!

Today I had a friend come over, and we spent a delightful morning sewing together. We started a linen dress for her, and then I pulled out some white material I had found at Wal-Mart for a cheap price (why else would I have bought it? :-D) I had an idea brewing in my mind for a pretty WWI style Armistice style blouse. Cute idea, and although I started out with other plans for the whole sleeve area, it ended up being something entirely different.

DSC_0006_1

The original idea out of my design-book.


So the original was inspired by something from Anthropologie, and was made out a sheer gauze and lots of stripey and lacey frills. Especially around the cap sleeves. It just looked like it was going to be too much for me, so I opted for a sailor-type collar instead.

DSC_0016

The finished result.


DSC_0028

The simple button and loop closure.


DSC_0030

I ended up sewing the lace down by hand, it looks better that way.


No pattern used on this one, I just started out with the straight section in the front of the bodice, and used vintage lace I found at an antique show last year to make the front panel. Then I cut, fitted, and sewed the side and back panels together. Pretty simple, as there are no darts (hooray!!!!!), and no sleeves. The collar was probably the hardest part, because I couldn’t get the shoulder seam to lay right. I eventually figured it out, though! (Only after an hour of fighting it, though…)

Now I’m off to relax for the evening. God bless, and have a wonderful weekend!

“A woman can never be too fine when she is in white.”
~Mansfield Park~

July 16, 2009. Fashion, Femininity, Friends, Fun, Happiness, Life, Modesty, Projects, Sewing, Thursday.

One Comment

  1. Kristin replied:

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

