Some Very Special Gifts!

This weekend has been a glorious one! Lovely weather and lots of fun. The yard sale was a complete success, and I managed to sell quite a lot of my old treasures. I was able to spend practically the whole weekend with my best friend (and sweetheart)!

This weekend was also my birthday, and my best friend gave me a complete surprise! We have been out antiquing together several times and I had seen a couple nice sets of vintage spice jars… so guess what he gave me as one of my presents?

DSC_0004

My very own lovely set of spice containers.
With red lids
and a red shelf!

So, part of my day was spent cleaning out the spice jars, all the while making sure I don’t get them wet on the outside and have the paper labels fall off. Aren’t they just lovely? Oh, the grand kitchen messes I will make using these treasures…

My best friend’s parents also gave me a delightful (and FUN) surprise! I got an adorable vintage toaster that actually works! I tried it out almost as soon as I got it! 😀 You have to flip the toast over half-way through the toasting process, though. Otherwise it will only brown on one side! It has a little bell on the underside, that “dings” as it heats up. I have discovered that three “dings” per side makes the perfect piece of toast.


DSC_0006

Toast, anyone?

And for fun…

“There was an Old Man of the Coast,
Who placidly sat on a post;
But when it was cold,
he reliquished his hold,
And called for some hot buttered toast.

~Edward Lear~

September 7, 2009. Birthdays, Cooking, Hopechesting, Quotage.

One Comment

  1. Sarah replied:

    I had a toaster like that when I was 2!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

